Kadazan Dusun
Latest News
Biggest ever Sabah contingent for Sukma |  Straight fight for Safa presidency |  Man sought for spearing wife |  Wildlife unit’s swift actions save jumbo |  Man tries political ties to get druggie sons off |  Stand-up comedian Harith Iskander to perform at SHAREDA Nite |  Bangkok-KK route will boost state's tourism |  KPJ Healthcare records RM44.6 mln Q2 net profit |  CIDB urges industry to adopt QLASSIC |  Polinta moguhud misokodung miampai Indonesia monoodo talun-alun tagazo |  Komulakan kusai natagak nokito poinhabu id tenggara Pulou Timbun Mata |  Podtuhudan potihombus Bangkok- Kota Kinabalu kopoinsavat kotombuhuzan |  25 pelajar Universiti Wuyi China sertai Kursus Kejuruteraan di UMS |  Cuba lepaskan anak ditahan AADK, ayah guna nama parti |  APMM Semporna rampas minyak petrol | 

KYC sailor Ambigavalli steals the show

8th May, 2018


KOTA KINABALU: Ambigavalli Grant stole the show at the 32nd Harvest Festival & Sabah Fest Open Day Regatta that ended in Tanjung Aru here on Sunday.

The Kinabalu Yacht Club (KYC) sailor clinched the overall title for the Marathon STPC Handicap Trophy (Dinghy Open). Prior to that, the 17-year-old lass had won the Laser Radial class race.

But Ambigavalli’s feat was more to like putting the icing on the cake on rampant Kota Kinabalu Yacht Club side, who dominated the two-day event where they clinched a combination of 17 top placings in the regatta featuring the Series Race and Marathon.

In the Series Race, KYC sailors grabbed 10 titles with Navy Yacht Club Kota Kinabalu (NYCKK) winning two, while Sabah Sailing Association (Saila) and Tawau Yacht Club winning one each.

KYC won through Brandan Yap Zhen Xian in the overall event for Optimist Novice; Calista Teo Jing Yi (Optimist Overall and B Division); Evan Teo Hao Yang (Optimist A Division); Ambigavalli (Laser Radial class); Md Zahimulhakim Zainal (Laser STD class); Velant Grant (Laser 4.7 Overall); Timothy Chung Pui Tung (Windsurf Starboard Phantom 295 Overall); associate professor Dr. Jason Teo Tze Wi (Windsurf Race Boat Open Overall), and John Malthouse/Jennifer Chin (Int. 470 Veteran class).

Mohd Zaidey Bahadun and Mohd Amirul Haqim clinched both NYCKK titles in the Series Race where their top placing in the Int. 470 Class race was enough to earn them Overall title of the category.

Saila’s sailor Siti Nur Fauzana Faizam won the overall title for Windsurfing Novice Open while Chow Khai Yong delivered TYC’s only title from the Series Race in the Optimist C Division.

KYC also shone in the Marathon event where their sailors grabbed seven titles with the remaining four titles going to NYCKK and TYC (two titles each).

Brandan clinched his second overall title of the weekend by capturing the Marathon Optimist Novice top placing. The other five titles for KYC came from John/Jennifer (Int. 470 Veteran class); Velan (Laser 4.7 class); Evan (Marathon Optimists A Division) and Zeti Irdina Zainal (Marathon Optimists B Division).

Khai Yong delivered both of TYC’s titles with his victories in C Division and an Overall section of the Marathon Optimist event.

NYCKK, on the other hand, won their titles through Zaidey/Amirul (Int. 470 class) and Azmi Rosli (Last STD class). About 50 sailors took part in the annual race.

KYC commodore Albert Shim was among those present at the prize giving cum closing ceremony.

Email Print