Kadazan Dusun
Latest News
61 students graduate from Ascot Academy’s programmes |  Mamonde opens first store in Sabah |  Promotion hopes take hard knock |  Luguan adat pokionuon monilombus kotorinaan |  Kapangalapan mooi tanud pialaan sipoot koubasanan id KDCA |  POLINTA POGUN OTUMBAZAAN PAN BORNEO SABAH POTIHOMBUSON |  Mouth-watering Ramadan buffet at Mercure |  Mayor – Tanjung Aru Eco project shelved |  ‘35 of 72 bags seized, 26 currencies worth RM114 mil in cash seized’ |  Reflect voices of the people, media urged |  Govt’s ability to pay 1MDB debts will give assurance to markets |  Pesta Kaamatan landasan yang baik dedahkan kesenian dan kebudayaan Bumiputera Sabah |  Kerajaan pertimbang bantuan Aidilfitri untuk penjawat awam |  Tegur lewat datang kerja motif pemotong rumput ditikam |  CGC peruntuk RM4.9 bilion pembiayaan usahawan | 

UMS Koboy Team FC-Tombongon Community Cup decider

8th May, 2018


KOTA KINABALU: UMS Koboy Team FC will take on Tombongon in the main final of the Community Cup nine-a-side football tournament, or otherwise known as the Sepanggar Cup 2018.

They clinched their final tickets after emerging as champions of their respective groups that was played at the UMS fields on Sunday.

For UMS Koboy Team FC, it was not an easy route to the final.

Competing in the Dun Karambunai group where a total 49 teams took part in the single knockout tournament, UMS Koboy Team FC registered a 1-0 win over UMS D Forces 1-0 in the (group) final.

Prior to that, they merely cruised to the title decider (group) after winning a toss coin over Kebagu in the semi-finals.

Both sides failed to settle the score in regulation and extra time. In the penalty shootout, it also ended four-all that prompted it to be decided through toss coin.

As for UMS D Forces, they clinched their final ticket after edging Oemar Bakri 1-0 in the last four. In the Dun Inanam final, Tombongon stunned the more fancied Kompakto FC 2-1 in the final.

In the semis, Tombongon edged Telipok Town 1-0 while Kompakto FC, who paraded a few ex-state players in the likes of Zainizam Marjan, Hardy Charles Parsi and Shahrudin Yakup, defeated Tebobon A, also 1-0. For the Dun Inanam, a total of 31 teams were in the fray.

The champions of the respective groups will be rewarded with RM3,000 prize money while the runners-up will pocket RM2,000.

The prize giving ceremony will take place after the main final.

The champions of the main final will walk home with the Sepanggar Cup (Datuk Abdul Rahman Dahlan Cup) plus the RM10,000 prize money.

The losing finalists will be rewarded with RM5,000 plus trophy and medals. The date and the venue for the main final will be announced soon by the organisers.

The inaugural tournament jointly organised by Cebagoo FC, P 171 Sepanggar Parliamentary Office and Putra Sepanggar with the cooperation of Sabah FA, UMS, UiTM, and DBKK kicked off at the UMS field C and synthetic pitch yesterday where teams were drawn into two groups – Dun Karambunai and Dun Inanam.

Iltizam by ekuinas, aL-ikhsaN, Cosmopoint College and UNITAR were among the sponsors for the tournament, while the New Sabah Times is the media partner.

Email Print