Kadazan Dusun
Latest News
61 students graduate from Ascot Academy’s programmes |  Mamonde opens first store in Sabah |  Promotion hopes take hard knock |  Luguan adat pokionuon monilombus kotorinaan |  Kapangalapan mooi tanud pialaan sipoot koubasanan id KDCA |  POLINTA POGUN OTUMBAZAAN PAN BORNEO SABAH POTIHOMBUSON |  Mouth-watering Ramadan buffet at Mercure |  Mayor – Tanjung Aru Eco project shelved |  ‘35 of 72 bags seized, 26 currencies worth RM114 mil in cash seized’ |  Reflect voices of the people, media urged |  Govt’s ability to pay 1MDB debts will give assurance to markets |  Pesta Kaamatan landasan yang baik dedahkan kesenian dan kebudayaan Bumiputera Sabah |  Kerajaan pertimbang bantuan Aidilfitri untuk penjawat awam |  Tegur lewat datang kerja motif pemotong rumput ditikam |  CGC peruntuk RM4.9 bilion pembiayaan usahawan | 

Fiery Guangdong dragons dominate

14th May, 2018


KOTA KINABALU: China Guangdong dragon boat team were dominant at the 5th Sabah FCAS International Dragon Boat Race by taking home four titles, including the main crown, which is the Sabah Head of State Trophy.

The team, also known as Ying Ao Shunde Xingtan, last won the main title back in 2016, also clinched the Sabah FCAS Dragon Trophy as well as the Men and Mix Team Open races.

In the Sabah Head of State Trophy, China Guangdong staved off a late challenge from defending champions Sayang Lawas of Sarawak to win the 800m race in three-minute and fifty-five point one second (3:55.10s).

Sayang Lawas clocked 3:57.91s followed by third-placed Brunei Dragon Boat A team in 3:58.71s in the event that was open to international and top Malaysian men’s teams.

China Guangdong also won the Sabah FCAS Dragon Trophy, an 800m race Mix Team race for international and Malaysian teams.

They clocked 4:00.31s to deny two Brunei teams in Pasukan Lela Cheteria (4:00.61s) and Brunei Dragon Boat Team A (:4:04.09s).

In the Mix Team Open 200m Race (international and Malaysian teams), China Guangdong won in 58.67s followed by Pasukan Lela Cheteria Team B in 1:02.47s and City Council of Penang Island (MBPP Dragon) in 1:02.80s.

Their fourth title came in the Men’s Team Open 200m Race where they edged Landas Sarawak A and Sayang Lawas, who settled for second and third respectively.

The annual race also featured a new category for the Kota Kinabalu Mayor Trophy, which was for invited local authorities men’s team.

Majlis Daerah Tuaran won in 4:02.27s followed by DBKK Dragonz in 4:04.30s and MBPP Dragon in 4:07.92s. The other main race was the Sabah Chief Minister Trophy where Landas Sarawak emerged as champions in 4:00.09s followed by Lawas Dragon Boat Team (4:01.19s) and Pasukan Kampung Nelayan 2 (4:02.09s). Overall, there were 11 races featured in the annual race this year. (See full results) Head of State Tun Juhar Mahiruddin was they to present the prizes to the winners.

This time around, the race attracted around 120 teams including international entries from China and Brunei.

Email Print