UPKO Penampang, Penampang Proper share points



KOTA KINABALU: UPKO Penampang and their counterparts Penampang Proper shared one point each after drawing 0-0 in the opening match of the 10th Sabah Unity Cup Mix Veteran football tournament on Saturday.

The Group B curtain-raiser played at the Penampang Stadium, near here was the kick-off of the tournament’s 10th edition where the opening ceremony was officiated by Penampang District Officer, Luvita Koisun.

In her opening speech, she thanked the organising committee, Penampang Unity Football Club for organising such a tournament with the cooperation of Sabah Football Association (Sabah FA) which has continued non stop for the past nine years.

“This is something the district’s community should be proud of because it is centered in Penampang and has received participation from other districts such as Kudat, Pitas, Kota Belud, Kadamaian, Kota Marudu, Tuaran and also some government organisations like PDRM, Prisons Department and the Education Department,” she said.

Luvita also highlighted football competitions for women and she urged the organisers to also organise women football tournaments in view of the good performance of the Penampang girls’ team in last year’s SAGA Cup.

“By doing so, we will be able to develop women’s football to make Penampang one of the powerhouses in Sabah,” she added, while thanking organising chairman, Edwin Jomiji for putting so much effort in making sure the tournament ran according to plan.

On behalf of the organiser, Edwin thanked, all football teams or clubs for their participation, and urged football fans to come and support the tournament, especially the Penampang community to ensure the continuity of this tournament.

For the record, 20 teams are participating in the Mix Veteran category and 16 teams in the Super Veteran category for this year’s tournament.

In the Mix Veteran category, the 20 teams have been drawn into four groups where Group A comprises YBFC (Kedamaian), SRAG, RRV, Noibu (Kota Belud) and Real Kapazan, while Group B is made up of Real Goshen, UPKO Penampang, Penampang Proper, NABT SS 90s, and Mixedu.

Prison Legend, Ranau Clasico, Dabak Utd, PGA and Sabah Cops are in Group C, while Telaga Classic, OMB Utd, Kiulu Utd, Mara Vet and Real Gemilang FC in Group D.

Meanwhile, in the Super veteran category, Tuaui FC, PSV, Hugu and Tunoh are drawn in Group A, while Group B is made up of RRB1, Telipok, Likas United and Kobusak (Amigos).

Bema, FCK United, RRB2 and Ranau Super are in Group C, while Kobusak (Braves), Hungab Bombers, TV FC and PDRM are drawn in Group D.

By :
New Sabah Times